Librarian’s Picks Book List

Here are some favorite picks of the library staff.

The Handmaid's Tale

The Handmaid's Tale

Author: Margaret Atwood

A chilling look at the near future presents the story of Offred, a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead, once the United States, an oppressive world where women are no longer allowed to read and are valued only as long as they are viable for reproduction.

A Freewheelin' Time: A Memoir of Greenwich Village in the Sixties

A Freewheelin' Time: A Memoir of Greenwich Village in the Sixties

Author: Suze Rotolo
Publication Date: 2008-05-13

A must read for any Dylan-head! Rotolo, who was romantically involved with Bob Dylan from 1961 - 1964 has written this memoir of the rise of the folk music movement in Greenwich Village from a firsthand perspective. She vividly recreates that period in history while recounting her own growing political awareness, and explains how folk music eventually led her to a life of activism.

Them

Them

Author: Nathan McCall
Publication Date: 2008-08-19

Passing his time reading books & hanging out with fellow locals in his ramshackle Atlanta community, forty-something African-American Barlowe witnesses local tensions between his neighbors and white newcomers who are promoting redevelopment efforts. By the author of Makes Me Wanna Holler.

One Heart to Win

One Heart to Win

Author: Johanna Lindsey
Publication Date: 2013-06-18

Tiffany reluctantly travels to 1880s Montana Territory to end a family feud, a journey during which a train robbery and a case of mistaken identity lands her in her alluring fiance's ranch home.

Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend

Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend

Author: Matthew Dicks

Budo is Max's imaginary friend. But though only Max can see him, he is real. He and the other imaginary friends watch over their children until the day comes that the child stops imagining them. And then they're gone. Budo has lasted a lot longer than most imaginary friends - four years - because Max needs him more. His parents argue about sending him to a special school. But Max is perfectly happy if everything is just kept the way it is, and nothing out of the ordinary happens. Unfortunately, something out of the ordinary is going to happen - and then he'll need Budo more than ever...

The Boleyn King

The Boleyn King

Author: Laura Andersen
Publication Date: 2013-05-14

1st book in the trilogy!

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?

« Back